A Little Help Up The Stairs

Getting up to the rail trail bridge is easy!

A few weeks ago, I was downtown in Northampton with my bike. On my way home, I decided to take a detour from my usual roundabout route home, and go more directly. This meant not going away from the main intersection of Pleasant/King Streets and Main/Bridge Streets to the rail trail entrance down by the parking lot at Union Station restaurant. Instead,  I went to the rail trail bridge over Main Street.

The reason I usually avoid going this way is that there is a flight of steps from the street up to the bridge, and I don’t want the hassle of carrying my bike up the stairs.

The whole way over to the stairs, I was lamenting to myself that there wasn’t a bike ramp on the stairway which would allow me to just roll my bike up the stairs. I was just resigned to carrying it.

But lo, and behold,

There’s the bike ramp I was hoping for!

So, now I know there *is* a ramp for bikes on the staircase up to the rail trail. Yay!

About Pedal Paradise

Cyclist, Mom, Travel Nut, Bike Riding Empower-er!
This entry was posted in Tips, Trails and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Little Help Up The Stairs

  1. Johanna says:

    Wonder how long that’s been in place. I remember bumping down those stairs with my bike several years ago. Is there one on both sides of the stairs?

    • Hi Johanna,

      I don’t think that there is a ramp on each side of the staircase. Unfortunately, this ramp is a little too close to the wall, so I really had to hold my bike at an angle tilted away from the wall to use it. But, it was better than carrying the bike up the stairs.

      Gina

  2. Johanna says:

    Whoever put it there had good intentions, but not much bike experience!

  3. This meant not going away from the primary junction of Pleasant/King Roads and Main/Bridge Roads to the railroad pathway entry down by the vehicle car park at Partnership Place cafe.

  4. The purpose I usually prevent going this way is that there is a journey of actions from the road up to the link, and I do not want the stress of holding my bicycle up the stairways.

Leave a Reply

